Malahide Yacht Club was established in 1958 with the objective of “promoting and encouraging sailing” and in the years since its formation, it has been one of the most successful sports clubs in a town rich in sporting heritage.
An Olympic Silver Medal (in 1980), representation at ten of the last twelve Olympic Games and 28 National Championship winners in eight different dinghy classes are impressive achievements but the Club is also proud of its contribution to introducing the sport to hundreds of children and adults over the years.
MYC is unique in the sailing world in that it has two separate clubhouses and two distinctly different sailing waters. The inland Upper Estuary – known as the Broadmeadow Water – provides ideal, non-tidal conditions for dinghy sailing, racing and sail training. Facilities there include a large and secure dinghy storage pen (housing over 100 boats) and a modern, state-of-the-art clubhouse which was re-built and re-opened in 2012 as the Club’s Dinghy Sailing Centre. The Broadmeadows is widely recognised as the best place to learn to sail in Ireland. For directions to Broadmeadows from around the country click HERE
The older clubhouse at St. James’s Terrace (between the Tennis Club and Scout Den) overlooking the tidal Lower Estuary is built on the site of the Club’s original wooden pavilion. It is the base for the Club’s cruising and keelboat racing enthusiasts and also houses the Club’s bar, catering and function facilities. Members’ boats are kept in either Malahide Marina or on moorings in the Estuary channel.
The Club is run by an Executive Committee headed by the Commodore, with officers in charge of such matters as Finance, Secretarial, House, Social, Facilities, Dinghies and Keelboats, and with Class Captains for the various fleets.