Saturday , 16 February 2019
Breaking News
Home » Dinghies » Dinghy Prize-giving 2017

Dinghy Prize-giving 2017

There was a buzz and air of excitement and anticipation as the prizes for the Optimist year-end sailing were awarded last Saturday night. It was a fabulous year with many more Optimist sailors participating in away events, resulting in higher competition in club series racing. The Optimist racing series were dominated by Sophie Kilmartin, James Anglim and Jamie Wynne but in the crowd were many onlookers who were clearly eyeing up those perpetual cups for next year.

Finally, Optimist sailing at MYC is NOT confined to racing and competition. We have many emerging sailors who are developing sailing skills and confidence on the water. This cannot be under-estimated and sailing must be fun while forging personal confidence and lifelong friendships. That’s why, this year we presented a “Spirit of Sailing” award to the individual who added fun and enthusiasm to our plucky group of sailors. Congratulations to Ciara Campion who never ceased to infect all with her fun and positive approach to sailing.

Awards on the night:
Best newcomer – Glenda Gallagher
Most improved – Kate Campion
Spirit of Sailing – Ciara Campion

RS Fevas
Most Improved Sailor of the Year 2017: Lucy Butcher
– for showing great sportsmanship, perseverance and hard work, and being so active from early in the year to the end of the season, travelling up to Belfast, down to Blessington, as well as local events to name a few.
– she sets a great example of what sailing should be all about – participating, having fun, never giving up and always having a big smile at the end of every event!

It was a busy Topaz year with so many sailors from different fleets trying a Topaz on a single and double-handed basis, especially on Tuesday and Thursday night sailing.
Well done also to so many people who took part in the 2017 Topaz Spring and Autumn Training programmes.

Many Congratulations to our Topaz 2017 prize winners:
Kingsley Long – 1st in Series 1 and Series 2.
John Walton – 1st in the Frostbites
Darragh Fitzpatrick – 2nd in Series 2
Eoghan O’Callaghan who has performed terrifically over the past couple of years of Spring and Autumn Training, most deservedly won Most Improved Topaz Sailor 2017
Alejandro Rodriguez came to MYC during summer 2017 and has performed terrifically during his short time sailing the Topaz here.


Picture above also are Aisling Kilmartin, Sarah El Masry and class captain Peter Kilmartin among the laser class prizewinners.

IS (Irish Sailing) Instructor of the Year MYC: Liam El Masry

IS (Irish Sailing) Asst. Instructor of the Year MYC: Emma Gallagher

Check Also

Six Nations Rugby

The action continues . . . . .  

Nollaig na mBan

We will host a very important fundraising event again this Christmas season in St James’s …

Gala Ball celebrating 60 Years of MYC

Our Guest of Honour on Saturday evening was the Mayor of Fingal, Cllr.Anthony Lavin and other …