Friday , 22 June 2018
Breaking News
Home » Dinghies » Intervarsity Champions 2017

Intervarsity Champions 2017

As part of Trinity’s first team, two Malahide Yacht Club members sailed together to great success in Clifden last week. MYC members Scott Flanigan crewed by Cara McDowell competed as one third of the team joined by Richard d’Esterre Roberts, Laragh Lee, Daniel Gill and Kate O’Reilly as they went on to become the first team from Trinity to win the title in 11 years.


After a great start on Day One, going unbeaten in the seeded group- the team qualified for the Gold fleet on Day Two. Superb conditions, ideal for the very tactical and rules focused team racing discipline, prevailed all week as Trinity progressed through the second stage of the competition in 3rd.


Over the knockout stages they only lost one race, beating TCD 2 in the quarters, favourites UCC 1 in the semi’s before only dropping the single race in the final against UCC 3 which included ISA Olympic Development 49er squad member Mark Hassett.


This inspired performance comes on the back of a 4th place the weekend before in the U.K. at the Oxford Top Gun Invitational trophy, made up of the best 8 University teams across the pond.


Cara McDowell went on to swoop the prestigious IUSA (Irish University Sailing Association) crew of the year award- even more impressive given that this was her first major national team racing competition.


The Trinity team will take great confidence going into the Annual Colours Match in Grand Canal Dock on the 1st of April, which will feed as perfect preparation for the British University Championships in West Kirby the next week, which they qualify for as Irish champions.

Check Also

Bookings Now Open for Junior Training 2018

Follow the links below: JT Program 2018 Which Course? Application Form

Wave Regatta

Our neighbours in Howth Yacht Club have undertaken an exciting new initiative with a major …

Pen Clean Up

The clean up of the Pen is progressing on schedule.  All boats have been assigned …